I really enjoy learning new things. One of my missions is to always experience and learn for the rest of …well forever. I am going to start sharing some of the tips and things I learn throughout my journey and maybe they will help you. One thing I have learned this week is that in adobe camera raw I am able to do most of the editing workflow quickly and get fantastic results. I am currently learning how to retouch portrait photography as one of the steps in starting my photography business so this tiny tid bit will help speed up the editing process.

Tip:

You must shoot in camera raw for this to work. Once you open your photo for the first time a dialog window will pop up. This window has lots of buttons and options. If you haven’t taken time to explore this go ahead for a few minutes and become acquainted with some of the options available. Once you are ready to adjust the white balance. Using the eye dropper tool click on an area of the image that you know to be neutral (having an equal value of Red, Green and Blue). This area is often white but can also be a grey color. Once you click the photo will automatically adjust. If you are not happy with the results use the sliders off on the side to tweak the coloring. Often a picture will look better a little warmer or cooler.

With practice this will help you improve your workflow and images!

